What Professional Sports Teams Play in October?

It’s October and that means that professional baseball, basketball, and hockey teams are all playing. So, what professional sports teams play in October?

Checkout this video:


The National Football League (NFL) is a professional American football league consisting of 32 teams, divided equally between the National Football Conference (NFC) and the American Football Conference (AFC). The NFL is one of the four major professional sports leagues in North America, and the highest professional level of American football in the world. NFL teams play each other throughout October.

Regular season games

During the NFL regular season, each team plays 16 games. The games are divided into four quarters, each lasting 15 minutes. Each team has two timeouts per quarter. If the game is tied at the end of regulation, then it goes into overtime. During overtime, each team gets one possession to score, and the first team to score wins the game.

Playoff games

The National Football League playoffs are a single-elimination tournament held after the end of the National Football League’s (NFL) regular season to determine the NFL champion. Six teams from each of the league’s two conferences qualify for the playoffs based on regular season records, and a seeding system is used to determine which teams play which. The tournament culminates in the Super Bowl, the league’s championship game.


The MLB playoffs begin in October. The teams that make it to the playoffs are the ones that had the best record in their respective divisions or were one of the two best teams in their league with the best record regardless of division. These teams then compete in a best-of-seven series to determine who goes to the World Series.

Regular season games

The Major League Baseball regular season runs from the first Sunday in April to the first Sunday in October. During that time, each team plays 162 games. From there, the top team from each league advances to the League Championship Series, and finally the World Series.

Playoff games

The Major League Baseball playoffs are a set of tournaments held each October, after the conclusion of the regular season, to determine the best team in Major League Baseball. The playoffs began in 1969. Currently, five teams from each league (American and National) advance to the playoffs.


The National Basketball Association (NBA) is a professional basketball league in North America. The NBA October Schedule features 82 regular season games. The regular season starts on October 22 and ends on April 15. All 30 NBA teams will play in October.

Regular season games

The regular season runs from October through mid-April. During this time, each team plays 82 games. These games are not played all at once, but rather over the course of several months. The schedule is designed so that each team plays every other team in the league at least twice, and some teams three times. This gives each team a fair chance to compete against every other team in the league.

In order to make the playoffs, a team must first finish the regular season with a winning record. The top eight teams in each conference (Eastern and Western) make the playoffs. The playoff format is a tournament, in which each team is seeded (ranked) according to their regular season record. The higher-seeded team has home-court advantage, meaning they get to play the first and (if necessary) seventh game of the series at their home arena.

Playoff games

The National Basketball Association (NBA) playoffs are a best-of-seven elimination tournament held after the conclusion of the NBA’s regular season to determine the league’s champion. The playoffs follow a tournament format that involves another set of seven-game series between the winners of each of the previous series. The Basketball Association of America (BAA) was founded in 1946, one year after the last shots were fired in World War II. At that time, professional basketball was mostly a regional enterprise with teams in just a few large cities — New York, Chicago, Detroit, Philadelphia and Washington, D.C. But by 1950, with the addition of teams in Milwaukee, Fort Wayne and Rochester, N.Y., the league had 14 franchises in 10 states stretching from coast to coast. In 1949, an earthquake measuring 8.3 on the Richter scale hit Tacoma, Wash., serving notice that the Pacific Northwest was ready for major league sports. That same year, the Portland Trail Blazers were formed as an expansion team in the NBA.


The National Hockey League (NHL) is a professional ice hockey league composed of 30 member clubs: 23 in the United States and 7 in Canada. Formed in 1917, the NHL is the oldest professional sports league in North America.

Regular season games

In October, NHL teams play a variety of regular season games. These games are used to determine each team’s place in the standings, as well as to prepare for the Stanley Cup playoffs. The playoffs are a single-elimination tournament that determines the champion of the NHL.

Playoff games

NHL teams that make it to the playoffs compete for the Stanley Cup, which is the most prestigious trophy in professional ice hockey. The playoffs are a single-elimination tournament that begins in April and ends in June, with the winning team being crowned the Stanley Cup champions.

Only 16 teams make it to the playoffs, which means that there are a lot of exciting and close games throughout the tournament. One of the best things about playoff hockey is that anything can happen and any team can come out on top.

Similar Posts